Shoot your rocket

If I had one wish, I would wish to watch my favorite movie for the first time again.

I have said in a previous blogpost that Groundhog Day was my favorite movie. While that is true, I do not necessarily remember watching it for the first time. As I was thinking about the above statement, I thought of another favorite of mine that impacted me in a different way. October Sky.

I remember watching this film for the first time. My father had his arm stretched out along the length of the leather sofa. A couple of this sisters on the floor and me sitting on the chair in the back. I felt this boy’s struggle and his determination throughout the length of the movie. It resonated through the screen as if I was there experiencing his trials with him. Despite his frustration, he never gave up. And when his rocket finally shot up in the sky with the trail of smoke for all to see, I got chills.

He was focused and determined on the outcome to where he didn’t care about his own mistakes. How beautiful.

I try to think of that movie at times like these, when I envision myself being in a different place, when I see the life that I would love to be living. I get down in the dumps sometimes. I tell myself that being sad about something is a waste of precious time. The times that you feel tired and lousy is the time to think that things will get better. It’s always a hoot to see how it all works out. The brick walls are there for a reason. They are there to show us how badly we want it. Thanks Randy Pausch.

Now, pat yourself on the back and fetch some hot chocolate. Know when to chill and sit back and enjoy the ride. Life is for us to have the best time we can, and if we can’t enjoy it now, then we won’t enjoy it later.

Leave a Reply

