What are your fears?

What do our fears mean? This question grabbed my attention this evening.

We are taught in this life that fear is a negative thing, and must be something that we have to conquer. I have not thought about it too much, and quickly dismissed it as a natural reaction. But how about viewing it in a more artistic way? How about viewing fear as an amazing act of the imagination?

When we are children, we make up stories about things under our bed and creepy things lurking around in the night. An example in my life would be really wanting a cat when I was younger. I had seen the movie The Mummy, and I was just petrified of mummies from that time on. I desperately wanted a cat because I believed that was the only thing to ward them off. I would often imagine the things that would happen if a mummy would visit us. I created mental pictures and built a plot in my head.

What if we simply called our fears stories? They are unintentional in the way that we don’t even realize that we are making them up constantly. In our fears, the characters are ourselves and we predict all of the things that could go wrong. Our fears make us think about the future and measure possibilities.  We have the ability to time travel to the future. We start to worry and questions start being asked:

“What if I don’t do well at work today?”  “What if my love rejects me?”  “What if my plane blows up and I fall to the earth in a million pieces?” Et cetera. 

We have a choice to act on that fear based on a logical stand point. Think about why we have these fears because how we choose to read our fears is how our lives will play out. Fear makes us act. I hope we all make the right choices whenever fear presents itself.  

What are your fears? What are my fears… 

Leave a Reply

