All’s fair in Piano and War

The day was heavy for me. Because my piano competition is close, I think that is building some underlining tension in my head. “You just played that Mendelssohn piece like you are hiding”, my teacher told me.

It is very true, and I feel myself preparing for war whenever I touch the keys to play that song. It takes time for me to remember that it’s not that scary.

I go back into my shell and my body stiffens. Perhaps I am just nervous.
To be able to play enough times where the piece becomes part of you is a hard thing to do. I am just brushing the surface, but would like to dig a little further.
Leave a Reply

