Work harder than yesterday.

Though I have a piano performance tomorrow, I am not feeling nervous. I am not feeling anything to be honest. It seems like a normal night. From past experiences, I’ve realized that I’m the most nervous ten minutes before I get on stage. 

I have the usual symptoms of stage fright: Sweaty palms and shaky legs. Both are great for loosing control and I have yet to find a cure. I have been preparing for a long time, and after a few minutes the song will be over. It is a short piece, but that does not make it easier. 

Did the great composers of the past feel nervous on stage as well? Have they ever gone blank in a middle of a piece? I believe performances get easier the more you trust yourself. When you know what you are doing, it will go down smooth. If it does not go as hoped, I will walk away telling myself that I did a good job and that I did all I could. 
After the judges scribble away notes, I’ll be giving myself a pat on the back to congratulate myself for working harder than yesterday.

Leave a Reply

