Whims and Hot Chocolate

On the way to Nagoya:

I have small dreams. Dreams that come to me in an instant. It is the feeling of wanting to do something and going out and doing it. I felt the same in Bali. I feel free when I travel on a whim.

I did not have a reservation for the train and I was put in Car 5. The smoking car. As I was walking from the front of the train to the back, smells from the passenger’s food entered my nose. Nikuman, Obento, Dry Squid. I had one thought as I made my way to my seat: This is Japan.

If there is anything that I do not like, it is smoking. As soon as I take my seat, the man in front of me puffs a large cloud of smoke into my face. I could not stay there. Why would they still make smoking allowed on trains?

I felt at home at the space between the train cars, but I started to get restless after half an hour. I wanted time to go faster. I started reading the only book I brought with me: Danny Gregory’s, “A Kiss Before You Go”. It is a depressing yet uplifting narrative. I wondered how I would react to a situation like his.

After an hour I got tired of standing and decided to sit on a machine that was in front of me. I didn’t think it was allowed to be a chair, but my feet were screaming mercy. I was lucky to get a nice train man checking the tickets. He was quite the jolly looking fellow with the physique of Santa. He looked up and found me elevated. He had a mischievous look in his eye and grinned at me. I passed my ticket to him with a smile. We made a silent agreement that we would keep my conduct hush hush.

Two trains and two hours later, I made it to my friends house. The night ended with me meeting my great friends and getting back to hot chocolate with a mountain of cream on the top.

Leave a Reply

