Revelations from an Indian friend.

On Mother’s Day, I went to the beach with half of my family. It was fun, but I was feeling slightly down and I blamed it on my empty stomach. That could have been the reason, but something was off. Something inside of me just was not satisfied. I should have been more impressed after seeing the gorgeous view overlooking the cafe’ we were in, but I was just passive.

When the evening started to roll around, my mother suggested an Indian restaurant that was good in the area. With all of the generic Indian restaurants here, this one stood out because they don’t have nan, but another type of flat bread. The food had a real homemade feel to it. However, my mom warned me about one thing: the servers like to stand at your table and talk to you while you are eating. It didn’t sound too appealing considering the mood that I was in, but I was hungry. I figured I could just eat and listen. 

After ordering our meal, sure enough during the middle, one man came up and started chatting. I was polite and smiled, but I let my mom do most of the talking in the beginning. What I did not expect was receiving good advice from my new Indian friend. 

When he asked me about myself and the things that I liked, I told him that I do this and that but there are so many other things that I want to do.

“That is such a Japanese way of thinking”, he told me. I had never thought of it that way and I was slightly taken aback. I realized then, that I have that mentality in all things that I do. If I show you my diaries from ten years ago until now, they all say the same thing: I have so many things to do. So many things that I want to do. Always another thing to do.

He then continued and said, “If there is something you want to do, it is possible NOW. You don’t have to wait to do things.”

It was a revelation for me. He did not mean that you will have instant results of course, but the process and the act of doing something is what is most important. You miss out on so many things by simply wishing when you have the opportunities already.

I was nodding and asking questions the whole time. I was glad that I came to the curry shop with my mother that day. Because it was Mother’s Day he gave us some special homemade ice-cream with berry sauce on top. He was still by our table when he told me that he always loves seeing my mom because she is always smiling and is always friendly. It is true. I have a great mother, and his previous talk came back to mind in that moment. I realized that that is what my mother is always doing something and working hard. She loves trying new things, and always very active.

From now on, I will not say “There are many things that I want to do”. I will change it to, “There are so many things that I want to be.” And one of those things is to be an amazing person like my mother. 

 

Leave a Reply

