The most unfortunate thing

I hear him whispering sweet things in my ear. He tells me that he loves me. On my face, I force a sad, sweet smile and make a tear fall from my right eye.

I told him that I wish I could love him. I told him that now was not the right time. I told him we would never complete each other — that he would be unhappy.

I will never forget the melancholy expression on his face, on his whole that broke my heart. I tried to spare his feelings the best I could, but I realized then that nothing would work. I understood in that moment that heartbreak is quite inevitable when passions are not requited. When two hearts do not meet, it is the most unfortunate thing indeed.

This is what the woman in the painting told me.

Leave a Reply

