I felt alive

photo-95

Gaze into the fire, into the clouds, and as soon as the inner voices begin to speak, surrender to them.

This was one of the lines that stood out to me as I read Demian in my favorite organic cafe by the station. Today could have gone down so much differently than it had. I would have woken up, gone to class, wave to the guard at the supermarket, arrive at work, make small talk for five hours , and come back home at 7:00 pm as usual. Every work day is predictable. It would have been the same Thursday, except that I ended up not going to work. The cold weather and the coughs from the people on the train finally caught up with me and I came down with a cold.
It has been awhile since I took a sick day. I tend to be more productive on days that I take off rather than days that I have off.

This morning I did some cleaning, and in the afternoon I went out to draw.
With some walking around, I passed a restaurant with the door to the kitchen wide open. I saw the cooks hard at work, making dishes and washing dishes.  I was standing outside looking at them for ten minutes wondering if I should go and ask if it would be okay to draw. Finally after mustering up the courage, I explained that I sketch as a hobby, and wondered if I could draw the kitchen. They agreed and I thanked them. The unfortunate thing was that when I sat down, I realized that I had forgotten my watercolor paper. I dug in my bag and there was nothing I could use except the back of a notebook. It turned out to be a blessing I disguise. I was pleased that the universe pushed me to try something new and break out of my tight shell a little bit.

As I was sketching, one of the workers came out and got a peek of what I had sketched. He seemed pleased and went back inside. A second time, he came out with some hot tea. “It’s cold out here, isn’t it?” And went back in.
That man made the drawing experience so much more of a joy. He came out about three more times to make small talk and showed me a lot of kindness that made my week.

A lot of elderly gentleman who were getting ready to hike up the mountain also introduced themselves. As serendipity had planned it, they were also sketchers and invited me along with them to their next sketching event.
If only everyday could be like these. I was sick and I was exhausted by the time I got home, but I felt alive.

Today, I ended up not going to work. Instead I find myself at my favorite cafe at the end of the day listening to my favorite kind if music and reading my favorite kind of book.

Leave a Reply

