Longer than 10 minutes

The day went by quickly. I wanted to hold on to the minutes and the hours, but it flashed by. I spent the day watching the gardener I had I hired chopping down the jungle that I could not tame. It was amazing to see the difference at the end of the day.

I had a lot of things on my To-Do list, but it was hard for me to get into a good rhythm. I sketched for ten minutes then got bored. I read for five minutes then I moved to studying. After a few pages I remembered someone I had to email. Why couldn’t I get anything done?

The gardener finished his job at sunset. I stared at it from the balcony with the reds and the blues mixing in the sky and sighed a happy sigh. The job was finished. I counted the hours that he had worked: 9 1/2 hours straight. Him focusing on one project for that long inspired and saddened me. Could I focus like he had?

I promise I will study longer than ten minutes tomorrow.

2 thoughts on “Longer than 10 minutes

Leave a Reply

