Oh, that’s it?

SKETCH

I would like to introduce you to the place where I pass every sunday. It is a shop that sells Red Bean Paste Snacks and I would occasionally buy from him when I had a little extra time. I have been passing this shop for the past 5 years and the only words that would pass between me and the shop owner was “Good Morning” or “It’s a nice day today, huh?”.

Today we had our first conversation, and it started out like this:

Mr. Shop: Where do you go every week in that direction??

Me: I have a class over there every week.

Mr. Shop: Oh, that’s it?

Yesterday when I did my sketch, our 5 years of silence broke. And it was all thanks to me missing an email about class being canceled.

4 thoughts on “Oh, that’s it?

  1. Your drawing of the shop makes it look very exciting. It’s probably one of those things that you need to be there to enjoy. When I was a little kid we would pass by this stand selling chocolate milk and orange juice. When we had to move I missed that morning routine for years.

  2. This reminds me of a friend who went to the same combini everyday for probably a decade. One clerk finally asked him how long he was going to stay. When he replied “forever” the ice was broken and the only chilly thing in the store was the refrigerator.

    1. Thanks for the comment Anthony! Thats so neat. Its so funny how it all just becomes habit. I wondered why I didn’t start a conversation sooner but even though we never talked, I felt like we were friends.

Leave a Reply

