Today was almost perfect

Today was almost a perfect day.

I don’t mean it in a negative way; it is a hard thing for one to have a perfect day, but to come close to one is bliss.
I started off my morning going to my favorite place in Kyoto: Papa Jons Cheesecake Factory. Every month they organize an event called The Flame where they have a wonderful combination of musicians, storytellers, and entertainers. Every time it is wonderful, and tonight’s was the last one of the year. I was talked into putting up some of my artwork at the restaurant by my *ahem* mother. It sounded like a good idea, and with a bit of pushing from her, I decided to give it a go. The night before, however, I was regretting the decision. Not only was I nervous about showing my art in public, but I was sick with a terrible cold and was dreading getting up at an early hour to take the canvases all the way. With a lot of water and salt though out the night, I managed to feel semi-decent in the morning and I dashed to the cheesecake shop.
With a bit of creative thinking from my lovely friend and owner of the shop, we hung them up.

Afterwards, we spent the afternoon chatting over coffee.
I can not describe how much I enjoyed the afternoon. We touched on many subjects, and I felt like the walls that I have up around certain people instantly disappear because of his sincerity. The conversation moved from topic to topic effortlessly. Religion, psychology, past, feelings, emotions, stories- we never ran out of things to talk about. I was extremely happy to have the chance gain a little more knowledge and wisdom from my dear friend.

After lunch, because I was in Kyoto I intended to go to a few famous temples since I don’t travel to touristy places often. After I left the house and before I reached the bottom of the hill, I found myself in the house of another: A sweet elderly lady who owned a mini gallery. I noticed the art hanging on the walls and she invited me in to come look. We ended up talking about art over green tea and sweets for hours.

After excusing myself from her lovely gallery, I then found myself on a bus going to the Kyoto Art museum area, and took a train to where I was that morning handing up my paintings. The day seemed to go by so fast, but it was great. I enjoyed every minute of it and it still wasn’t over.

I got to the event two hours early, and slowly the restaurant started to fill up. Familiar faces entered the shop and we greeted each other  with smiles and hugs. It is always a happy event.

The music started, and the event was a smash. I was touched by the music and cried during one of the songs. I don’t find myself tearing up during performances, but this particular song hit me, bringing back memories from the past and even to a conversation earlier today.

If anyone who is in Kyoto, I would highly recommend this event. Unfortunately, all good things must come to an end and the restaurant most likely won’t be around to hit Fall 2015. Please hurry and buy yourselves some cheesecake at Papa Jons!

Right now, I’m nodding to myself and thinking: Yes, today was almost perfect.

photo 2-4

3 thoughts on “Today was almost perfect

  1. I would never think that almost perfect was a negative thing. When I first started writing, all I was looking for was one perfect moment in a day. Luckily, I found that there are lots of perfect moments in the day–there are also crappy ones, but I choose (and chose) not to dwell on them. It made me much happier.
    I am happy for you that you displayed your artwork. I know it can be difficult to “put yourself out there”, but I am sure the positive feedback will outweigh the negative.
    It sounds like a pretty awesome day. I hope you have many more of them.

    • Thank you so much for your comment! Enjoyed reading it very much🙂
      I agree with you 100%, though I could not say the same for my past self. It was very easy for me to dislike something about myself or something I had created if it was not perfect- but the people that I had met in the past few years changed my take on that 🙂 Getting better, but it still manages to creep up on me like yesterday with the art!
      Thank you very much again for the words of encouragement.

Leave a Reply

