My Little Eyes: The Anatomy of a Teardrop

I started this series without thinking how much I would need it during my time in Singapore and Bali this past New Years. I felt very alone and creating these sad looking images helped me deal with those emotions. There are a total of six images in the series. I don’t know if more will be added later. Looking back on the pictures, the feelings that I had during that time come back to me in one big swoop and I revisit that lonely place in my head. It is all a memory and life has brought me new challenges to face. Little by little I feel myself becoming stronger. I hope the words that came to me and the art that I drew can help you become stronger as well.

photo-105

The Anatomy of a Teardrop

———

Tears speak volumes. They speak of happiness, sorrow, and hate to name a few. Each of us cry for his or her own reasons, but rather than just explain them as salt water coming from your tear ducts, it would be pleasant to think that each one has its now personality and its own story to be told, waiting for you to come and ask to tell it. You won’t find the explanation under a microscope, just as you won’t be able to see how much their heart is hurting even if its right in front of you. However, just because you cannot see it doesn’t mean it isn’t there. Search for it, and find those stories. The beauty of it all is when someone else’s tears become yours as well.

4 thoughts on “My Little Eyes: The Anatomy of a Teardrop

  1. A series huh? Very interesting. I have to admit that I have never heard of such a creative therapeutic method. I believe it is as equally comforting knowing that you have poured out the same tears as someone and thus recognize where theirs is coming from, as it is, their tears becoming your own.

    You are definitely right. There truly is a unique story that comes out of every tear. For someone like me, however, it is especially moving when someone sheds the tears that I can’t.

    1. Yes, the “series” was not planned, but while I was traveling I let myself draw a lot and write feelings down that I wanted to keep to myself. Although only one year has passed, it seems like a lifetime ago and though I deal with the same insecurities, it is easier for me to accept them now.

      I agree with you completely. I have a great friend who feels so much for others, and though she is very strong, when she talks about things that are injustices she shows how much she cares through her tears. It is difficult for me to feel for things that I have not experienced in my own life, and her being able to make someone else’s problems her own I think is amazing.

      Thank you by the way for your comment!!

  2. Pleasure 🙂 What really would be nice is a journey that could be embarked upon. An exploration of this idea of the language of tears as it differs from individual to individual. All this beginning from the author’s perspective of her interpretation of each tear shed and how it applies to her personal growth as she discovers the “good” that came out of it after all.

    In a way there will be a dual series: The Anatomy Of A Teardrop and The Language Of Tears. One illustrates the experience that brought it out and the other composes a post of how the resolve to live on from it came to be.

    Just kidding! I know that sounds so deep and profound. It was a crazy thought that came to mind. If it were to happen though, oh my goodness, Johnna, it would be glorious!

Leave a Reply

