Where am I from?

photo-115

My travels have ended and I am back in my living room in Nara, Japan. The last two weeks have been quite the adventure, so much so that I don’t think I will be able to explain everything. Even if I could explain it well, it would not have the same impact as being there yourself.

The route went something like this: Nara to Tokyo. Tokyo to China. China to Singapore. Singapore to Malaysia. Malaysia to Phuket. Phuket to China. China to Tokyo. Tokyo to Nara.

Many beautiful things happened. I am still trying to work things out in my head and I hope to have clarity on a few things soon.

Upon coming home, everything seemed distant. All of the things that I have known for the past four years seemed to hold no familiarity. It could be the fact that I am currently malnourished and seriously lacking sleep, but coming back to this house didn’t feel like home. This house felt so small compared to the whole world outside. Why?

I am so grateful to have had the opportunity to meet so many great people in the past two weeks and to have had the change to experience so many things. Throughout my trip, many people asked me, Where are you from? I would reply, Japan. It was always a treat seeing the look on their faces after they processed what I had said. I am from Japan, but what I realized is that I don’t want to limit it to just one country because I have left my heart in other places as well. It would make more sense to say, I am from everywhere.

Happy New Year everyone!

5 thoughts on “Where am I from?

Leave a Reply

