The Train Stories: No Sleep

photo-120“There is no sleep in this life” is what I wrote next to this image that I drew sometime back. We are constantly moving. Constantly changing. Constantly trying to better ourselves while failing twice as much.  Today I came across two quotes that stood out to me.  One from the movie, “The Chosen”. A beautiful movie. In the film, the father is working hard on his project,  and his son wants him to rest. With that, the father replies, “Only a life of meaning is worthy of rest”. That hit me. He is pushing himself to the limit and fighting for what he believes in. What does my life mean? I am here complaining about things with no depth while I could be working harder. Along with that quote I found one by Leonardo Da Vinci: ” I have offended God and mankind because my work didn’t reach the quality it should have”. With those two stuck in my head, I feel ashamed. It is too easy for me to slack off and not do anything. I can only hope that someday I will be worthy of my rest.

7 thoughts on “The Train Stories: No Sleep

      1. You are very welcome. ❤

        Well, some friends call me Mme Neige, some Rosa 🙂 (all this because I'm an enthused Jacques Brel's fan), some call me Mariana – my Christian name!

        And I have two blogs… filled with odds and ends, since cannot limit myself to one track. This is my greatest fault, I believe; but hey, I like myself as I am – humbly so! 😉

  1. When I remember my experiences on a Japanese train (mostly the Nankai Koya line) I remember a lot of sleeping.
    I am glad you found an inspirational quote for you. I hope you are able to accomplish something great in this life–of course if you talk to your friends and family, they might say you already have.

    1. Thank you Anthony! 🙂
      Isn’t the sleeping on the train the best? *sarcasm*
      I hope to be able to do something, but I think that no matter what I will always feel like Ive come short. The pressure I put on myself might be a good thing because it always pushes me, but at the same time I think it hinders myself from actually enjoying what I do. There always is a balance that must be found 🙂

      1. There’s nothing wrong with pressure that pushes you to accomplish more. Yet, hopefully, you will also find it in yourself to enjoy and be proud of what you’ve accomplished. I guess the best way is to think that you might not have reached your complete vision of something, but what you’ve created is a step in that direction. You might not celebrate the completion of something, but you can celebrate that you’re on the path.

Leave a Reply

