To the boy sitting next to me

photo-125

To the university boy sitting next to me on the train yesterday:

Thank you so much for tapping me on the shoulder. Thank you so much for pulling out Google Translate to make an attempt to appreciate a stranger. Thank you so much for telling me about yourself. Thank you so much for letting me talk to you about my life. Thank you so much for wanting to meet again. Thank you so much for not being like the rest of the population. Thank you for giving me my favorite memory of the week.

I wouldn’t have had the pleasure of meeting you if I hadn’t missed my stop.

Again, thank you.

One thought on “To the boy sitting next to me

  1. You’re such a positive person. Years ago, my terrible roommate in Japan almost caused an international incident…perhaps that is going too far. Basically, one day when he was on his way to Japanese class, and probably trying to impress people by studying Kanji on the train (and though he might be lauded for studying, I came to believe that he was a bit too proud of his effort–but that is another story), one student started to study his English homework beside him. This terrible roommate thought he was being mocked and was less than friendly. I think he told the student that he got the wrong answer even though he hadn’t. When he related this story, I didn’t laugh.
    Keep meeting people, you’ll find some bad ones, but the good ones will more than make up for it.

Leave a Reply

