Levels of life

I managed to finish the book Levels of Life by Julian Barnes while taking my lunch break before the second half of my test. I enjoyed it and I was able to get into it enough so I didn’t have to worry about the two test directors that showed up just for me(I was the only one that was taking the test). Some quotes from the book that I scribbled down:

Perhaps the world progresses not by maturing, but by being in a permeant state of adolescence, of thrilled discovery.

So why do we constantly aspire to love? Because love is the meeting point of truth and magic. 

He could hear himself living.

We were together for thirty years. I was thirty-two when we met, sixty-two when she died. The heart of my life; the life of my heart.

It hurts exactly as much as its worth.

Perhaps grief, which destroys all patterns, destroys even more the belief any pattern exists.

There are two essential kinds of loneliness. That of not having found someone to love, and that of having been deprived of the one you did love. 

2 thoughts on “Levels of life

  1. Of your quotes, the one that goes “it hurts as much as it is worth.” If this person is speaking about loss, well…we might have lost something or someone, but that doesn’t diminish the value of the relationship–that doesn’t mean we can get it back, but maybe it will help us live with it better.

    1. Yes, I believe he was talking about the loss of his wife at the time. He is implying that if it means so much to you, whether you realize it at the time or not, then it will pain you just as much 🙂 Life is difficult 0-0

Leave a Reply

